flavio's profile picture
flavio
@flaviocopes
View on Twitter

I worked as a Web Developer for the past 15 years. I love being a Web Developer. I wouldn't do anything else. Here are my 26 top tips for new and aspiring Web Developers 👇

• Be patient. you won’t learn quickly. it will take time.

• Listen to all the advice, but don’t follow all the advice

• Try to ignore too much enthusiasm (hype) on some tools and too much negativity about other tools as well

• When doing tutorials, type the code. Don’t do copy/paste. Subtle but big difference. The code will be yours

• You learn by doing, not by watching other people do. Find a problem, even a simple one. Use code to create a solution. Create tons of little websites/apps.

• Start by understanding the problem. Once you understand the problem, coding is the easy part.

• Simple is better than complex. Don’t write code for a future that might never exist. Simple code working now is better than complex code that might work for a future scenario.

• Don’t be afraid that it looks too simple and not enough “engineered”

• Work on little projects that are interesting to you. Work on lots of projects. Quantity and spending tons of hours exposing yourself to different things is brute-forcing learning

• Find a way to stay consistent. For example every day at 6AM you spend 1 hour learning programming. Make it a habit.

• Don’t wait until you check all the boxes in a job ad to apply. You never know.

• Also, make tons of job applications because you might not find the best company for you right at the first try.

• Skills apply across different programming languages

• You never finish learning. you have to always stay up to date to avoid becoming obsolete

• Learn from different sources

• Don’t focus too much on tools

• Don’t think you need a degree and that you won’t become a developer without a degree.

• Everyone makes mistakes. Mistakes are part of the learning process.